Gigabyte's BIOS readies DDR4 and DDR5 B760 and H610 boards for Intel's 2027 LGA 1700 chips
Gigabyte says Intel plans new processors for existing LGA 1700 motherboards, expected in early 2027. Its BIOS covers DDR4 and DDR5 versions of its B760 and H610 boards, Tom's Hardware reported, so owners can plan a CPU swap that keeps the memory they already own.
The Engineer · Build desk
Exposure map. Gigabyte B760 and H610 owners can flash the BIOS and take the new CPUs without a new board; DDR4 and DDR5 variants are covered. Intel has not confirmed DDR4 support on the new chips. Z690, Z790 and B660 are not in the announcement.
- What's now possible capability Gigabyte B760 and H610 owners Can flash the latest BIOS and upgrade to the new CPUs without replacing the motherboard, claim 4
- What's now possible capability Owners of DDR4 or DDR5 variants The update covers both DDR4 and DDR5 variants of the B760 and H610 motherboard families, claim 8
- What it limits constraint DDR4 users Refreshed processors are estimated to be configurable for DDR4, which Intel has not confirmed, claim 7
- Who's exposed exposure Z690, Z790 and B660 owners Not included in Gigabyte's announcement, though these boards also use the LGA 1700 socket, claim 10
| Who | How | Kind | Claim |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gigabyte B760 and H610 owners | Can flash the latest BIOS and upgrade to the new CPUs without replacing the motherboard | capability | 4 |
| Owners of DDR4 or DDR5 variants | The update covers both DDR4 and DDR5 variants of the B760 and H610 motherboard families | capability | 8 |
| DDR4 users | Refreshed processors are estimated to be configurable for DDR4, which Intel has not confirmed | constraint | 7 |
| Z690, Z790 and B660 owners | Not included in Gigabyte's announcement, though these boards also use the LGA 1700 socket | exposure | 10 |
What happened
- Gigabyte's release leaves out its Z690, Z790 and B660 boards, even though they use the same LGA 1700 socket.
- Tom's Hardware links the early-2027 window to Raptor Lake Next, a reported third refresh of the architecture that debuted with 13th-gen Core.
- Leaked specs from tipster Jaykihn describe Core 200 parts ranging from a four-core Core 3 to a 20-core Core 7 with 8 P-cores and 12 E-cores.
- Intel vice president Robert Hallock has said Raptor Lake processors will stay available for years.
Why it matters
- What it costs cost Reusing a DDR4 kit avoids at least $270 of memory spend per 32GB machine at the cited prices, and the saving scales with every seat in a refresh.
- Who has to decide decision Desktops ordered now on Gigabyte B760 or H610 boards come with a stated path to the 2027 processors, so board model becomes the deciding line item in any order placed before then.
- What doesn't add up contradiction Tom's Hardware says Gigabyte confirmed Intel's plans, while the PC Gamer-based account says Intel only may be preparing the chips; until Intel confirms DDR4 support, a DDR4 reuse plan rests on Gigabyte's board list.
Next story · Product · 2d ago
AMD's Helion rack design comes in CPU-only and CPU-GPU versions for agentic AIConfirmed2 publishers
The upgrade is a firmware change. An owner flashes Gigabyte's latest BIOS, then fits the new processor into the board already on the desk [4]. The update covers both memory variants of each family [8], so a DDR4 machine keeps its DDR4 kit.
The DDR4 side has precedent. Many current Intel processors can already be configured for DDR4, according to the dev.to summary of PC Gamer's report [7]. The same report says Intel has not confirmed that refreshed Raptor Lake and Alder Lake parts will do the same [7]. Intel's next desktop chips reached the public record through a motherboard maker's press release [1].
Cited 32GB kit prices are about $210 for DDR4 and over $480 for DDR5 [5]. At those prices the DDR5 kit costs more than 2.2 times as much ($480 / $210) [14]. They are one outlet's examples, and Intel has not tied its plans to memory prices [5]. Robert Hallock, who runs Intel's enthusiast channel business, told Tom's Hardware Premium in August: "LGA 1700 is still a good socket. Lots of people are still interested in DDR4, so we'll keep offering, and you'll see pricing smooth out over time. It'll come back to normal. That's the plan." [3]
The case for paying the DDR5 premium rests on a test range. DDR5 raised frame rates by 1% to 10% in the tests the report cites, and the gap depends heavily on resolution and graphics card [9]. Those are game benchmarks. For the range to carry over to an engineering or office desktop, the work would have to depend on memory bandwidth about as little as a GPU-limited game does. The cited tests do not measure that.
Gigabyte did not disclose SKUs, specifications or pricing [11]. The only specs in circulation are the leaked ones [15]. Three of the four leaked parts are rated at 65W [16]. The fourth, a 16-core Core 5, is rated at 125W [15]. Until Intel publishes a spec sheet, a team cannot check a given chip against a given H610 board.
The platform has been in use since 2021 [2]. For a fleet already on DDR4 B760 or H610 boards, I think budgeting for processors alone is the right plan for 2027. If the parts slip, the machines keep running on hardware the team already owns.
What to watch
- An Intel spec sheet listing memory support and power ratings for the Raptor Lake Next parts.
- Whether Gigabyte or Intel extends 2027 processor support to Z690, Z790 and B660 boards.
- DDR4 kit prices against Hallock's prediction that pricing will 'come back to normal'.
Clarity's read
What the record supports and how the coverage leans. The claims behind it follow.
Reality
- Evidence55
- Adoption15
- Hype gap+30
- Incentives60
- Confidence55
Perspective Coverage
5 publishers- Builder
- Builder 39%
- Operator
- Operator 37%
- Investor
- Investor 24%
Claim ledger
Ranked by verification strength, evidence, and original report placement.
- [1]
Gigabyte confirmed Intel's plans to introduce new processors compatible with existing LGA 1700 motherboards, with an expected launch in early 2027, via a press release.
- [2]
Gigabyte says Intel may be preparing processors for LGA 1700, a platform that supports DDR4 and DDR5 and has been in use since 2021; PC Gamer reports an expected launch in early 2027.
- [3]
"LGA 1700 is still a good socket. Lots of people are still interested in DDR4, so we'll keep offering, and you'll see pricing smooth out over time. It'll come back to normal. That's the plan."
- [4]
Gigabyte is rolling out a BIOS update extending support for the upcoming processors across its entire lineup of Intel B760 and H610 motherboards; owners of supported boards can flash the latest BIOS and upgrade to the new CPUs without replacing their motherboards.
- [5]
Intel has not confirmed the suggested link to memory prices; cited 32GB kit prices are about $210 for DDR4 and over $480 for DDR5.
- [6]
Intel vice president Robert Hallock has said Raptor Lake processors will remain available for years to come.
- [7]
Refreshed Raptor Lake and Alder Lake processors are estimated to be configurable for DDR4, which Intel has not confirmed; many of Intel's current processors can already be configured to use DDR4.
- [8]
The update covers both DDR4 and DDR5 variants of the B760 and H610 motherboard families.
- [9]
Tests cited by the source show DDR5 can raise frame rates by 1% to 10%, with the difference depending heavily on the player's resolution and graphics card.
- [10]
The announcement does not include the Z690, Z790 and B660 motherboard series, which also use the LGA 1700 socket.
- [11]
Gigabyte has not disclosed SKUs, specifications, or pricing of the upcoming processors.
- [12]
The early 2027 launch window aligns with previous reports about Intel's rumored Raptor Lake Next lineup, a third refresh of the Raptor Lake architecture on LGA 1700, which debuted with 13th-gen Core desktop processors and was succeeded by the 14th-gen lineup.
- [13]
At the cited prices, a 32GB DDR5 kit costs at least $270 more than a 32GB DDR4 kit.
- [14]
At the cited prices, a 32GB DDR5 kit costs more than 2.2 times a 32GB DDR4 kit.
- [15]
Leaked specifications from tipster Jaykihn suggest Core 200 branding: a 20-core Core 7 (8 P-cores, 12 E-cores, 65W); a 16-core Core 5 (8 P-cores, 8 E-cores, 125W); a 10-core Core 5 (6 P-cores, 4 E-cores, 65W, 24MB L3); and a four-core, P-core-only Core 3 at 65W.
- [16]
Three of the four leaked Raptor Lake Next parts are rated at 65W.
Sources
5 independent publishers whose own reporting we read for this story.
- dev.toIntel Is Reportedly Launching New CPUs On Old Sockets That Support DDR4 Memory
1 article · October 9, 2026
- engadget.comIntel is reportedly launching new CPUs on old sockets that support DDR4 memory
1 article · October 9, 2026
- thenextweb.comIntel is reportedly launching new CPUs on a five-year-old socket to allow DDR4
1 article · October 9, 2026
- theverge.comDecade-old RAM is making a comeback
1 article · October 9, 2026
- tomshardware.comGigabyte's latest BIOS update hints at Intel's Raptor Lake Next Launch in 2027
1 article · October 9, 2026
Topics and entities
Topics
- DRAM Contract Pricing
- Motherboard BIOS updates