Skip to content

Build Reports disagree2 publishers 3 min read Published

Vivodyne is spending venture money on wet-lab throughput, not bigger models

The startup opened a robotic "human data center" near San Francisco on the thesis that AI drug discovery is limited by causal human experiments, not model capacity.

The Engineer · Build desk

Send a correction

What happened

  • Vivodyne opened what it calls a human data center near San Francisco, using HIVE robots to generate human-tissue data before drugs reach clinical trials; TechCrunch reported on August 19 that the facility opened the previous week.
  • AI drug discovery is constrained by the experiments behind its training data, and Vivodyne is spending its venture capital on producing causal human evidence before clinical trials.
  • Vivodyne's process begins with microfluidic chips called TissueDisks, and the company says each disk can cultivate hundreds of self-assembling human tissues.
  • Vivodyne's HIVE robotic labs grow, dose, monitor and analyze the tissues without manual handling.
  • According to Vivodyne's product description, each HIVE can test 10,000 tissues at once and return data in one to two weeks, and the platform measures visual changes, gene expression and proteins at single-cell resolution across more than 20 tissue types.

Why it matters

Vivodyne opened a facility it calls a human data center near San Francisco last week, filled with robotic labs that grow human tissues, dose them and record what happens; TechCrunch reported the opening on August 19 [1]. The wager underneath the building is that the binding constraint on AI drug discovery is the rate at which causal human experiments can be produced, not the capacity of the models reading them [2].

The mechanics are more interesting than the label. The process starts with microfluidic chips the company calls TissueDisks, each of which Vivodyne says can cultivate hundreds of self-assembling human tissues [11]. HIVE robotic labs then grow, dose, monitor and analyse those tissues without manual handling [3]. Per Vivodyne's product description, each HIVE tests 10,000 tissues at once and returns data in one to two weeks, measuring visual change, gene expression and proteins at single-cell resolution across more than 20 tissue types [4]. The structural point is that the company owns both the intervention and the measurement, so every record ties a defined action to a tissue response [5].

That is the gap Georgescu says current biological training data has. He told TechCrunch that models learn "this is cell state A", "this is cell state B", but never that B followed from inflammation of A [12]. His blunter version: "Absent human testing, what are these [AI] models going to do? They're going to cure cancer in mice" [6]. The nearest thing to independent support is a 2026 Nature Methods study finding that adding pretraining data produced no clear scaling advantage for single-cell foundation models, with performance often plateauing as data volume rose [13].

The capital tells you how literally Vivodyne means it. The company announced $38 million in total seed financing on November 22, 2023 and a $40 million Series A on May 29, 2025, both led by Khosla Ventures [7]. The Series A paid for a planned 23,000-square-foot robotic facility in South San Francisco [14], which works out to roughly $1,700 per square foot if the round went to nothing else [24]. The research record puts total financing near $82 million across three rounds including an earlier $4 million raise, with no disclosed valuation [8]; a separate account describes just under $80 million across two Khosla-led rounds [9], so the accounting is not settled.

Vivodyne enters a market that already includes Emulate, CN Bio, MIMETAS and Hesperos [15]. Emulate says its AVA system handles as many as 96 Organ-Chip samples per run [16], about a hundredth of Vivodyne's stated per-HIVE figure [25], but tissue formats, measurements and workflows differ enough that headline capacity numbers do not compare [17]. Vivodyne's stated distinction is the bundle: tissue production, robotic testing, and a data layer built for model training [10].

What is not disclosed matters as much. Public filings do not establish whether Vivodyne sells experiments as a service, licenses datasets, sells instruments or mixes those, and customer economics are undisclosed [18]. Its claim to collaborate with a majority of the world's ten largest pharmaceutical companies dates from its 2023 financing announcement, with no partners named and no contract values published [19]. Georgescu's assertion that the team already runs twice as many studies as all US animal testing is a company statement [27], as are its reported concordance figures: 94% predictive accuracy on liver toxicity, 96% agreement for airway tissue, and 100% across 20 chemotherapy drugs in bone marrow [26].

Watch whether repeatable tissue experiments generate information buyers cannot get cheaply from public data or conventional preclinical work [20]. The backdrop is unforgiving: roughly 90% of drugs that look promising in animals and enter clinical trials never win approval [21], only one AI-discovered drug has reached Phase III [22], and Isomorphic Labs now expects first trials by year-end after originally targeting 2025 [23].

Clarity's read

What the record supports and how the coverage leans. The claims behind it follow.

Reality

Evidence44
Adoption31
Hype gap+24
Incentives71
Confidence56
Why these scores

Claim ledger

Ranked by verification strength, evidence, and original report placement.

  1. [1]

    Vivodyne opened what it calls a human data center near San Francisco, using HIVE robots to generate human-tissue data before drugs reach clinical trials; TechCrunch reported on August 19 that the facility opened the previous week.

    Reported Supported Source: TechCrunch, via runtimewire.comView cited source
  2. [2]

    AI drug discovery is constrained by the experiments behind its training data, and Vivodyne is spending its venture capital on producing causal human evidence before clinical trials.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  3. [3]

    Vivodyne's HIVE robotic labs grow, dose, monitor and analyze the tissues without manual handling.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  4. [4]

    According to Vivodyne's product description, each HIVE can test 10,000 tissues at once and return data in one to two weeks, and the platform measures visual changes, gene expression and proteins at single-cell resolution across more than 20 tissue types.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  5. [5]

    HIVE experiments give Vivodyne control over the intervention and the measurement process, allowing it to produce datasets that connect a defined action with a tissue response.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  6. [6]

    Georgescu told TechCrunch: "Absent human testing, what are these [AI] models going to do? They're going to cure cancer in mice."

    Reported Supported Source: Andrei Georgescu, to TechCrunchView cited source
  7. [7]

    Vivodyne announced $38 million in total seed financing on November 22, 2023 and a $40 million Series A on May 29, 2025, with Khosla Ventures leading both rounds.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  8. [8]

    The research record puts Vivodyne's reported financing at approximately $82 million across three financings, including an earlier $4 million round, and Vivodyne has not disclosed a valuation.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  9. [9]

    Vivodyne raised slightly less than $80 million in two financing rounds led by Khosla Ventures.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  10. [10]

    Vivodyne's stated distinction is the combination of tissue production, robotic testing and a data layer intended for model training.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  11. [11]

    Vivodyne's process begins with microfluidic chips called TissueDisks, and the company says each disk can cultivate hundreds of self-assembling human tissues.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  12. [12]

    Georgescu told TechCrunch that all training happens on static snapshots of cells and that models learn 'this is cell state A', 'this is cell state B', but never that state B is a consequence of inflammation of state A.

    Reported Supported Source: Andrei Georgescu, to TechCrunchView cited source
  13. [13]

    A 2026 Nature Methods study found that adding more pretraining data did not produce a clear scaling advantage for single-cell foundation models, with performance often plateauing as the quantity of pretraining data increased.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  14. [14]

    The Series A financed a planned 23,000-square-foot robotic facility in South San Francisco.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  15. [15]

    Vivodyne's capacity places it in an established organ-on-chip market alongside companies including Emulate, CN Bio, MIMETAS and Hesperos.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  16. [16]

    Emulate says its AVA system can handle as many as 96 Organ-Chip samples per run.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  17. [17]

    Different tissue formats, measurements and experimental workflows make headline capacity figures difficult to compare.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  18. [18]

    Public disclosures do not establish whether Vivodyne primarily sells experiments as a service, licenses datasets, supplies instruments or uses a combination, and customer economics are also undisclosed.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  19. [19]

    Vivodyne says it collaborates with a majority of the world's 10 largest pharmaceutical companies, a claim that appeared in its 2023 financing announcement; it has not named those partners or published contract values.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  20. [20]

    Vivodyne's defensibility will depend on whether repeatable biological experiments create information that customers cannot obtain cheaply from public datasets or conventional preclinical testing.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  21. [21]

    Approximately 90% of drugs that show promising results in animal studies and proceed to clinical trials ultimately fail to receive regulatory approval for human use.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  22. [22]

    Only one AI-assisted drug candidate has advanced to Phase III clinical trials.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  23. [23]

    Isomorphic Labs, which grew out of AlphaFold work, expects its first clinical trials to begin by the end of the year, having originally planned them for 2025.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  24. [24]

    The $40 million Series A equates to roughly $1,700 per square foot of the planned 23,000-square-foot facility.

    Derived Supported
  25. [25]

    Emulate's stated 96 samples per run is about one hundredth of Vivodyne's stated 10,000 tissues per HIVE.

    Derived Supported
  26. [26]

    According to Vivodyne, its liver model showed 94% predictive accuracy in assessing drug toxicity, its airway tissue matched real human tissue in 96% of cases, and its bone marrow model showed 100% concordance in testing 20 chemotherapy drugs.

    Reported Contested Source: Vivodyne company dataView cited source
  27. [27]

    Georgescu states that his team already conducts twice as many studies as all animal testing in the United States.

    Reported Insufficient Source: Andrei GeorgescuView cited source

Sources

2 independent publishers whose own reporting we read for this story.

  1. mezha.net

    1 article · August 19, 2026

    Vivodyne створила роботизовані лабораторії, щоб дати ШІ дані про людські тканини
  2. runtimewire.com

    1 article · August 19, 2026

    Vivodyne opens human-tissue data center to train drug-discovery AI

Topics and entities

Topics

Entities