Skip to content

Invest Reports disagree2 publishers 3 min read Published

SALT prices its bitcoin-backed loans on collateral alone as borrowers spend them on tuition

SALT Lending says more borrowers are pledging bitcoin to pay tuition and fund business working capital. CryptoBriefing put its fixed rates at 7.49% to 10.50%, the cost of keeping coins a borrower would otherwise sell.

The Investor · Invest desk

Send a correction

Illustration accompanying SALT prices its bitcoin-backed loans on collateral alone as borrowers spend them on tuition
Generated illustration

What happened

  • SALT sells its bitcoin-backed loans at fixed rates on one-, three- or five-year terms to both personal and business borrowers.
  • SALT started in 2016 lending to bitcoin miners and has lately drawn institutional borrowers along with Gen X and baby-boomer holders, CoinDesk reported.
  • Ledn, lending since 2018, has funded more than $11 billion and expects that total to reach $1 trillion in the coming years as more clients take non-trading loans.
  • Coinbase added fixed-rate bitcoin-backed loans on Sept. 22, according to CoinDesk.

Why it matters

  • Who's exposed exposure At SALT's 70% loan-to-value tier, a 30% fall in bitcoin leaves the pledged coins worth no more than the loan, so the fixed rate settles the cost of borrowing while the safety margin moves with the price.
  • What it limits constraint With no credit checks or income verification, SALT can price only on loan-to-value and term, so a salaried borrower and one with no income pay the same rate at the same tier.
  • What doesn't add up contradiction CoinDesk wrote that SALT did not disclose its total loan volume, while CryptoBriefing carried SALT's own figure of more than $2 billion, so the size of the record behind its 100% collateral-return claim depends on which account is read.

SALT's rate card shows what the borrower pays. A one-year loan at 30% loan-to-value carries a 7.49% APR, and the top of the card is 10.50% at 70% LTV [4][5]. Going from the cheapest quoted tier to the most expensive adds about 3 percentage points to the rate [20]. It also cuts the bitcoin a borrower must lock up from $3.33 per dollar borrowed to $1.43 [21]. Hunter Albright, SALT's chief revenue officer, wants the product to look more familiar still. "Our ultimate goal is to have loan products behave much more like a mortgage, where someone can take out a loan, at a fixed rate over a longer term and have greater predictability around the cost of borrowing, even while Bitcoin remains volatile," he told CoinDesk [7].

The borrower's side comes from Ledn. "People borrow against their bitcoin because they believe it will be worth more in the future, and they also want to be certain they'll get it back," Adam Reeds, Ledn's co-founder and chief executive, said [8]. Someone who pledges instead of selling keeps the coins they would have sold, or rather keeps the exposure to them, since SALT, for one, holds pledged coins with an institutional custodian [16]. They pay the APR for that exposure. Borrowing beats selling only if bitcoin rises faster than the rate, 7.49% to 10.50% a year on SALT's card, before fees [18]. Whatever the proceeds pay for, the borrower ends up holding bitcoin financed at a fixed rate [18]. "Most clients renew their loans, because the whole premise of this type of lending is not selling bitcoin and continuing to hold the position," Reeds said [9].

The evidence fits three readings. In the first, the purposes are as the lenders describe them. "What I am seeing, both in the conversations I'm having and in the data, is that more people are starting to borrow against their Bitcoin for real-world needs," Albright said [2]. In the second, those purposes are a lender's account of its own customers: CryptoBriefing noted that SALT's figures are self-reported and that no third party has quantified the breakdown of loan purposes [11]. In the third, the model spreads to other hard assets such as gold, a move CoinDesk reported in a single line without naming a lender or terms [13].

Ledn's $1 trillion target is about 91 times what it has funded so far [22]. Its $11 billion is a cumulative funded total [10]. If a renewal is booked as a new loan, a book where most clients roll over will grow that total faster than its outstanding credit [9].

In my view the lenders have built ordinary secured credit on the cost side, with fixed rates, fixed terms and a loan-to-value grid [3]. The borrower's economics are still a financed position in bitcoin [18]. Albright's version of the counter-thesis is about who gets access. "Now, that is becoming available to a broader group of people based on the asset they own and hold," he said [17]. On that reading, a fixed payment over several years lets a household plan a tuition bill around the asset it already owns [3]. The view is wrong if independent data shows most proceeds going to non-trading uses and most loans repaid at maturity instead of renewed.

What to watch

  • Whether SALT gets California and Nevada licenses on its 2025 to 2026 timeline, adding to its 47 states plus Washington, D.C.
  • Any lender publishing gold-collateral terms, and whether its loan-to-value grid prices gold below SALT's 7.49% to 10.50% bitcoin range.
  • The loan-to-value caps and rates Coinbase sets on its fixed-rate bitcoin loans, set against SALT's published card.

Information, not investment advice. This story is general information about companies and markets, drawn from cited reporting. It is not a recommendation to buy, sell or hold any security; check the cited sources before acting.

Clarity's read

What the record supports and how the coverage leans. The claims behind it follow.

Reality

Evidence38
Adoption45
Hype gap+35
Incentives80
Confidence50
Why these scores

Claim ledger

Ranked by verification strength, evidence, and original report placement.

  1. [1]

    SALT Lending says customers are increasingly using bitcoin-backed loans for tuition payments, working capital for businesses, home purchases and debt consolidation.

    Reported Supported Source: SALT Lending report, via CryptoBriefingView cited source
  2. [2]

    "What I am seeing, both in the conversations I'm having and in the data, is that more people are starting to borrow against their Bitcoin for real-world needs."

    Reported Supported Source: Hunter Albright, chief revenue officer of SALT Lending, told CoinDeskView cited source
  3. [3]

    SALT offers fixed-rate terms of one, three or five years to personal and business customers; pricing depends on loan-to-value (LTV).

    Reported Supported Source: CryptoBriefing, citing SALTView cited source
  4. [4]

    SALT says APRs start at 7.49% for a one-year loan at a 30% LTV.

    Reported Supported Source: CryptoBriefing, citing SALTView cited source
  5. [5]

    SALT lists a top APR of 10.50% for loans at a 70% LTV.

    Reported Supported Source: CryptoBriefing, citing SALTView cited source
  6. [6]

    SALT runs no credit checks and no income verification; once approved, funding typically lands within 24 to 48 business hours.

    Reported Supported Source: CryptoBriefing, citing SALTView cited source
  7. [7]

    "Our ultimate goal is to have loan products behave much more like a mortgage, where someone can take out a loan, at a fixed rate over a longer term and have greater predictability around the cost of borrowing, even while Bitcoin remains volatile,"

    Reported Supported Source: Hunter Albright, SALT Lending, told CoinDeskView cited source
  8. [8]

    "People borrow against their bitcoin because they believe it will be worth more in the future, and they also want to be certain they'll get it back,"

    Reported Supported Source: Adam Reeds, co-founder and CEO of Ledn, to CoinDeskView cited source
  9. [9]

    "Most clients renew their loans, because the whole premise of this type of lending is not selling bitcoin and continuing to hold the position,"

    Reported Supported Source: Adam Reeds, Ledn, to CoinDeskView cited source
  10. [10]

    Ledn, which debuted in 2018, has funded more than $11 billion in loans to date and expects that figure to grow to $1 trillion in the coming years as more clients opt for non-trading loans.

    Reported Supported Source: CoinDeskView cited source
  11. [11]

    SALT's figures are its own: lending volume, the collateral record and claims about what borrowers spend the money on have not been independently verified, and the breakdown of loan purposes has not been quantified by any third party.

    Reported Supported Source: CryptoBriefingView cited source
  12. [12]

    On Sept. 22, Coinbase added fixed-rate bitcoin-backed loans.

    Reported Supported Source: CoinDeskView cited source
  13. [13]

    Lenders are expanding the model beyond bitcoin to other hard assets such as gold.

    Reported Supported Source: CoinDeskView cited source
  14. [14]

    SALT began offering bitcoin-backed loans in 2016, initially to bitcoin miners, and has more recently seen an influx of institutional borrowers alongside "Gen Xers and baby boomers who own bitcoin and want help understanding the loan process."

    Reported Supported Source: CoinDeskView cited source
  15. [15]

    SALT operates in 47 US states plus Washington, D.C., and plans licensing expansions into California and Nevada targeted for the 2025 to 2026 window.

    Reported Supported Source: CryptoBriefing, citing SALTView cited source
  16. [16]

    SALT says it holds collateral in institutional custody and does not rehypothecate it.

    Reported Supported Source: CryptoBriefing, citing SALTView cited source
  17. [17]

    "Now, that is becoming available to a broader group of people based on the asset they own and hold,"

    Reported Supported Source: Hunter Albright, SALT Lending, to CoinDeskView cited source
  18. [18]

    Borrowing against bitcoin beats selling it only if bitcoin appreciates faster than the loan's APR, 7.49% to 10.50% a year on SALT's card, before fees; the borrower keeps a bitcoin position financed at that fixed rate.

    Derived Supported
  19. [19]

    At 70% LTV, a 30% fall in bitcoin leaves the collateral worth only the loan; at 30% LTV, it takes a 70% fall.

    Derived Supported
  20. [20]

    SALT's top quoted APR is about 3 percentage points above its lowest quoted APR.

    Derived Supported
  21. [21]

    A borrower posts about $3.33 of bitcoin per dollar borrowed at 30% LTV and about $1.43 at 70% LTV.

    Derived Supported
  22. [22]

    Ledn's $1 trillion target is about 91 times the more than $11 billion it has funded to date.

    Derived Supported
  23. [23]

    At SALT, two borrowers at the same LTV and term pay the same rate regardless of income or credit history.

    Derived Supported
  24. [24]

    SALT, founded in 2016, says it has funded more than $2 billion in bitcoin-backed loans since launch and claims a 100% collateral return rate.

    Reported Contested Source: CryptoBriefing, citing SALTView cited source
  25. [25]

    SALT did not disclose its total historical loan volume.

    Reported Contested Source: CoinDeskView cited source

Sources

2 independent publishers whose own reporting we read for this story.

  1. coindesk.com

    1 article · October 7, 2026

    Bitcoin loans are paying for tuition and working capital, not just trades, lenders say
  2. cryptobriefing.com

    1 article · October 7, 2026

    SALT Lending says Bitcoin loans are paying for tuition and payroll, not just trades

Topics and entities

Topics