Factory's $5B lands at about a tenth of Cognition's mark from seven days earlier
Two companies selling AI agents to enterprise engineering teams took in at least $2.2 billion of new equity within seven days, each selling about 4 percent of itself, and only one of the two prices has a revenue multiple attached.
The Investor · Invest desk

What happened
- Factory said it raised $200 million in a round valuing it at $5 billion, against the $1.5 billion valuation it reported in April.
- Angel participants in the round included Nico Rosberg, Brad Gerstner and Marc Benioff, and Factory's total capital raised now passes $400 million.
- Factory says NVIDIA, EY, Adobe, Palo Alto Networks, Adyen, Blackstone and Wipro are running software factories in their operations.
- JetBrains found 90 percent of more than 15,000 professionals surveyed used AI coding agents weekly or more between May and July 2026, and 68 percent used them daily.
Why it matters
- What doesn't add up contradiction Cryptopolitan reads the round as capital moving out of code assistants, but the category's largest check that week went to a coding-agent rival, so the funding record supports both scopes being bid up at once.
- Who's exposed exposure With no run-rate revenue on the record, whoever bought into this mark is underwriting the customer list and the lifecycle claim, and the only revenue anchor available in the category belongs to a competitor.
- What it limits constraint Most surveyed developers still will not let an agent run unattended, which holds a lifecycle platform to supervised automation, and supervised automation displaces less engineering payroll than the pitch implies.
- Who has to decide decision Factory now has to decide whether to publish revenue at all: a number invites direct comparison with its rival's multiple, and silence keeps the price a claim about scope.
Next story · Product · Sep 30
Factory's CEO accuses an advisor turned Cognition executive of sharing confidential informationConfirmed2 publishers
The two rounds sold nearly identical fractions of their companies: 4 percent of Factory, at $200 million against a $5 billion post-money price [18], and about 4.2 percent of Cognition, at more than $2 billion against $48 billion [24]. Together that is at least $2.2 billion of new equity carried on a combined $53 billion of post-money paper [25]. One of the two is priced at roughly a tenth of the other [26].
Only one of the two prices comes with a revenue number attached. Cryptopolitan puts Cognition at about 53 times run-rate revenue at $48 billion [14], which works out to a run rate near $900 million [27]. Factory has not disclosed a comparable figure [5]. At Cognition's multiple, $5 billion would imply roughly $94 million [19].
Cryptopolitan frames the raise as capital moving from code assistants toward platforms that automate the full software-development lifecycle [17]. The two prints do not show money leaving anything. Cognition, which the same account treats as Factory's direct competitor alongside Cursor [12], raised ten times the money at about ten times the valuation in the same week [29], and from different leads: Andreessen Horowitz and Accel there [13], Blackstone, Khosla Ventures, Sequoia Capital, Insight Partners, Evantic Capital and Sound Ventures here [3]. What the prints share is speed. Factory is up about 233 percent since April and Cognition about 85 percent since May, on Cryptopolitan's reading of the disclosed funding data [15].
Matan Grinberg, who founded Factory in 2023 with Eno Reyes [11], tied the round to enterprises moving "from individual coding agents to software factories" [16]. The company's June definition of that term is a continuous system that starts from signals such as bug reports, internal communications and customer feedback and carries them through development, review, deployment and monitoring [6]. Blackstone is in the round and on the customer list [3][7].
That pitch has to survive how engineers actually use the tools. Stack Overflow found use up from 31 percent to 59 percent year over year, with 63 percent of respondents never or rarely letting an agent run without supervision, and 68 percent preferring one predictable agent to a multi-agent configuration [22][23]. Factory describes its own platform in those terms, saying customers operate a trusted system under their control, with humans governing measurable outcomes [8].
I think the $5 billion is a price on scope, and a run-rate disclosure is what would test it: publish something near $94 million and the mark is an ordinary 2026 AI price [19], publish well below and this round bought the lifecycle claim itself. Gartner expects more than 65 percent of engineering teams using agent-based coding to treat integrated development environments as non-essential by 2027 [20]. For now the price depends more on that forecast than on any disclosed revenue [5].
What to watch
- Cursor's next mark, which would give the category a third price to test $5 billion against.
- The next JetBrains or Stack Overflow reading on how many developers let agents run unattended.
- Whether any named software-factory user, Nvidia and Blackstone among them, discloses contract size or spend.
Information, not investment advice. This story is general information about companies and markets, drawn from cited reporting. It is not a recommendation to buy, sell or hold any security; check the cited sources before acting.
Clarity's read
What the record supports and how the coverage leans. The claims behind it follow.
Reality
- Evidence58
- Adoption35
- Hype gap+35
- Incentives62
- Confidence60
Perspective Coverage
3 publishers- Builder
- Builder 20%
- Operator
- Operator 22%
- Investor
- Investor 58%
Claim ledger
Ranked by verification strength, evidence, and original report placement.
- [1]
Factory said it raised $200 million in financing in a round that values the company at $5 billion.
- [2]
Factory said that in April it held a valuation of $1.5 billion.
- [3]
According to Reuters, as relayed by Cryptopolitan, the round was supported by Blackstone, Khosla Ventures, Sequoia Capital, Insight Partners, Evantic Capital and Sound Ventures.
- [4]
Factory said the round included participation from angel investors including Nico Rosberg, Brad Gerstner and Marc Benioff.
- [5]
Factory has not disclosed comparable run-rate revenue in the reports, so a like-for-like revenue multiple cannot be calculated.
- [6]
Factory's June release defined a "software factory" as a continuous system that starts with signals such as bug reports, internal communications and customer feedback and goes through development, review, deployment and monitoring.
- [7]
Factory claims companies including NVIDIA, EY, Adobe, Palo Alto Networks, Adyen, Blackstone and Wipro are using software factories in their operations.
- [8]
Factory said its platform allows customers to operate a trusted system to build software under their control, with humans governing measurable outcomes.
- [9]
Cryptopolitan describes the repricing as a leap of about 3.3 times in basically five months.
- [10]
Following the latest round, Factory has raised a total of over $400 million.
- [11]
Factory, a San Francisco startup that builds AI agents for enterprise engineering teams, was founded in 2023 by Matan Grinberg and Eno Reyes.
- [12]
Factory's platform positions it as a direct competitor to Cognition and Cursor.
- [13]
The raise came one week after Cognition disclosed Series E funding of over $2 billion at a $48 billion valuation, spearheaded by Andreessen Horowitz and Accel.
- [14]
Cognition's $48 billion valuation nearly doubled its $26 billion May mark, and Cryptopolitan estimates the company at approximately 53 times its run-rate revenues.
- [15]
A Cryptopolitan analysis of the two companies' disclosed funding data shows Factory's valuation rose about 233% from April to September while Cognition's increased about 85% from May to September.
- [16]
Grinberg tied the funding round to enterprises shifting "from individual coding agents to software factories" that can serve as the foundation for software operations.
- [17]
Cryptopolitan writes that capital seems to be shifting from code assistants toward platforms that automate the full software-development lifecycle.
- [18]
Factory's $200 million round is 4.0 percent of its $5 billion post-money valuation.
- [19]
At Cognition's approximately 53 times multiple, Factory's $5 billion valuation would imply about $94 million of run-rate revenue.
- [20]
Gartner expects that by 2027, over 65% of engineering teams that use agent-based coding will regard integrated development environments as a non-essential tool.
- [21]
JetBrains found that 90% of more than 15,000 professionals surveyed in its Developer Ecosystem Survey had used AI coding agents once a week or more between May and July 2026, and 68% used them daily.
- [22]
A Stack Overflow survey found the share of people using the tools grew from 31% to 59% year over year.
- [23]
In the Stack Overflow survey, 63% of respondents still never or rarely allow their agents to run with no supervision, and 68% said they prefer predictable single-agent setups to configurations involving multiple agents.
- [24]
Cognition's round of more than $2 billion is about 4.2 percent of its $48 billion valuation.
- [25]
The two rounds together took in at least $2.2 billion of new equity against a combined $53 billion of post-money valuation.
- [26]
Factory's $5 billion valuation is about 10.4 percent of Cognition's $48 billion.
- [27]
Cognition at about 53 times run-rate revenue on a $48 billion valuation implies a run rate near $906 million.
- [28]
Factory had raised roughly $200 million before this round.
- [29]
Cognition's round took in about ten times as much money as Factory's, at about 9.6 times the valuation.
Sources
3 independent publishers whose own reporting we read for this story.
- cryptopolitan.comFactory triples valuation to $5 billion on a bet beyond coding copilots
1 article · September 15, 2026
- morningstar.comAI Software Developer Factory Gets $200 Million in Financing Round | Morningstar
1 article · September 15, 2026
- techfundingnews.comFactory jumps to $5B in 5 months with $200M for its AI ‘Droids’
1 article · September 16, 2026